What Is The Difference Between SOC 2 And ISO 27001?

by Sneha Naskar

SOC 2 (Service Organization Control 2) and ISO 27001 are two widely recognized frameworks for assessing and demonstrating the security practices of organizations. While both focus on information security, they have distinct differences in terms of scope, purpose, and approach.

What Is The Difference Between SOC 2 And ISO 27001?
  1. Scope and Applicability:

  • SOC 2: SOC 2 is primarily designed for service organizations that provide services to other businesses, such as cloud service providers, data centers, and software as a service (SaaS) providers. It assesses the controls in place related to security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality, and privacy of customer data. SOC 2 reports are often used by these service providers to assure their customers of their security practices.
  • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 is a broader standard applicable to organizations of all types and sizes, not limited to service providers. It focuses on establishing an Information Security Management System (ISMS) that encompasses policies, procedures, and controls to manage and protect an organization's information assets. ISO 27001 can be applied to any industry, including manufacturing, healthcare, finance, and more.
  1. Framework and Certification:

  • SOC 2: SOC 2 is not a certification but an attestation. Organizations undergo an audit by an independent third party to assess their controls against the SOC 2 criteria. After a successful audit, they receive a SOC 2 report, which can be shared with customers and stakeholders as evidence of their security practices.
  • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 offers a certification process. Organizations implement an ISMS based on ISO 27001 requirements and undergo a certification audit by an accredited certification body. If they meet the criteria, they receive ISO 27001 certification, demonstrating their commitment to information security.
  1. Framework Structure:

  • SOC 2: SOC 2 is more prescriptive in terms of controls. It has predefined criteria in five trust service categories: security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality, and privacy. Organizations select the categories relevant to their services and define controls accordingly.
  • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 provides a high-level framework with a set of general security controls in Annex A. Organizations must assess their risks, identify security objectives, and tailor controls to their specific needs. This flexibility allows for greater customization but also requires more effort in the initial implementation phase.
  1. Compliance vs. Risk Management:

  • SOC 2: SOC 2 primarily focuses on demonstrating compliance with security controls at a specific point in time. It assures customers that the organization's controls meet certain standards but does not necessarily require continuous risk management.
  • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 emphasizes a risk-based approach to information security. It encourages organizations to continuously assess and manage risks, adapt controls as needed, and maintain a culture of ongoing improvement in security practices.
  1. Global Recognition:

  • SOC 2: SOC 2 is well-recognized in the United States and some other countries. However, it may not be as widely accepted internationally as ISO 27001.
  • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 is an internationally recognized standard, making it more suitable for organizations with a global presence or those seeking recognition on a global scale.

SOC 2 and ISO 27001 serve different purposes and have distinct scopes. SOC 2 is tailored for service organizations, provides specific criteria, and focuses on compliance, while ISO 27001 offers a broader, risk-based approach applicable to organizations of all types and sizes, emphasizing continuous improvement in information security practices. The choice between them depends on an organization's specific needs, industry, and global reach.


ISO 27001:2022 Documentation Toolkit