What Category Is ISO 27001/27002, NIST, and PCI In?

by Sneha Naskar

ISO 27001, ISO 27002, NIST, and PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard) are critical frameworks and standards related to information security and data protection.

What Category Is ISO 27001/27002, NIST, and PCI In?

Each of these standards falls into different categories and serves distinct purposes:

  • ISO 27001/27002:

    • Category: ISO 27001 and ISO 27002 belong to the category of international standards for information security.
    • Purpose:
      • ISO 27001: ISO 27001 is a standard for Information Security Management Systems (ISMS). It provides a framework for organizations to establish, implement, maintain, and continually improve their information security practices.
      • ISO 27002: ISO 27002 is a code of practice that offers guidelines and best practices for implementing security controls within an ISMS. It provides specific details on how to address information security risks.
  • NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology):

    • Category: NIST guidelines and standards fall under the category of government-developed and widely adopted cybersecurity and information security frameworks.
    • Purpose: NIST produces various publications, including the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, which helps organizations manage and reduce cybersecurity risks. NIST standards and guidelines are widely used by U.S. federal agencies and are also adopted globally.
  • PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard):

    • Category: PCI DSS is a specific data security standard for organizations that handle payment card data. It is in a category of its own, focused on securing payment card information.
    • Purpose: PCI DSS provides a set of security requirements and best practices to protect cardholder data. It is primarily used by organizations in the financial and retail sectors that handle credit card transactions.

In summary, ISO 27001/27002 are international standards for information security and offer a framework and detailed guidelines for managing information security risks. NIST guidelines and standards are U.S. government-developed resources for managing cybersecurity risks. PCI DSS is a specialized standard focused on securing payment card data. Each serves a specific purpose within the broader field of information security and data protection, addressing different aspects and sectors.

ISO 27001:2022 Documentation Toolkit